1st Test: Pakistan win toss and decided to bat against West Indies

DUBAI: Pakistan captain Misbahul Haq has won the toss and opted to bat first in the first of three-match series at Dubai Cricket Stadium, Dubai on Thursday.


Both teams are playing their first ever day-night Test, and the second ever in the history of the longest format of the game.

Misbah eleven, who was recently replaced by the arch-rivals India at the number one spot in the Test ranking, will be looking for nothing less than the perfect beginning after whitewashing the opponent in ODI and T20Is.

On the other hand, Windies skipper Holder will be hoping that the new format along with the pink ball will bring the good luck factor for the struggling visitors, who have hardly shown any fight in previous matches on this tour.

Young batsman Babar Azam and Mohammad Nawaz are making their debut in the five-day format for the Green Caps.

Pakistan Squad

Misbahul Haq (captain), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Imran Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Rahat Ali, Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed†, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar

West Indies Squad

JO Holder (captain), KC Brathwaite, D Bishoo, J Blackwood, CR Brathwaite, DM Bravo, RL Chase, ML Cummins, SO Dowrich†, ST Gabriel, SD Hope, LR Johnson, AS Joseph, MN Samuels, JA Warrican