Details of Pakistani cricketers’ earnings presented in National Assembly

ISLAMABAD: A report regarding earnings of the national cricket players during 2014 and 2015 was presented in the National Assembly on Friday.


In a written reply, the Ministry for Inter-Provincial Coordination informed the House that cricket players earned Rs920.04 million in the last two years.

The report states that twenty two players earned Rs410.46 million in 2014 and Rs500 million in 2015.

Younis Khan tops the list with Rs260 million whereas Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and T20 captain Shahid Afridi earned Rs 53.04 million and Rs45 million respectively.

Umar Akaml received Rs33.05 million and Shoaib Malik earned Rs26 million.

The report comes at a time when Pakistan entered the World T20 tournament in woeful form and their preparations were not helped by a row over security which led to the match being switched from Dharamsala to Kolkata.

But their trouncing of Bangladesh has banished the gloom, with skipper Shahid Afridi leading from the front by spanking a 19-ball 49 and then bagging two key wickets in the 55-run win.

Last year, all-rounder Shoaib Malik was given a category A contract by the PCB for the period between July 2015 and June 2016, while offspinner Saeed Ajmal and fast bowler Junaid Khan were demoted to category B.

The significant hike in the list was for ODI captain Azhar Ali, who was promoted to category A from category C.

Fast bowler Umar Gul was a notable omission from the 27-man list issued by the PCB.

PLAYERS‘ CATEGORIES: Category A: Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan

Category B: Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Junaid Khan, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah

Category C: Anwar Ali, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Imran Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaan Masood, Umar Akmal

Category D: Babar Azam, Sami Aslam, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar, Imad Wasim.