Imran Tahir, Dane Piedt return to SA Test squad

CAPE TOWN: Legspinner Imran Tahir and offspinner Dane Piedt have joined the incumbent spinner Simon Harmer in South Africa’s Test squad for the tour to India in October and November.


Tahir had been left out of South Africa’s previous Test assignment, in Bangladesh in July, while Piedt played his only Test in August 2014.

Dane Vilas was picked ahead of Quinton de Kock as the wicketkeeper in the Test squad.

De Kock had been dropped from the XI for the second Test against Bangladesh in Mirpur, where incessant rain ruined Vilas’ chance to make an impression on debut.

The only uncapped player selected was Dolphins batsman Khaya Zondo, who replaced the injured Rilee Rossouw in the T20 squad.

Rossouw, however, was expected to be fit in time for the ODIs that follow.

South Africa will play a tour game in Delhi on September 29, followed by three T20 internationals on October 2, 5 and 8, five ODIs on October 11, 14, 18, 22 and 25, and then four Tests in Chandigarh, Bangalore, Nagpur and Delhi.

Test squad: Hashim Amla (capt), AB de Villiers, Temba Bavuma, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Simon Harmer, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas.

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.

T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, David Miller, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, David Wiese, Khaya Zondo