Imran to lead Pakistan hockey squad to South Korea

LAHORE: Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) secretary general Rana Mujahid Ali on Thursday announced an 18-member national squad for South Korea tour.


Talking to media at National Hockey Stadium here, he said that Mohammad Imran would be the skipper while three changes had been made in the touring squad.

Goalkeeper Amjad Ali, forwards Kashif Shah and Rizwan Ali have been replaced with Mazhar Abbas, Mohammad Kashif Ali and Nawaz Ashfaq.

The tour will be held from May 15 to 23 and Pakistan will play a four match test series against the hosts. All the four matches will be played in Incheon.

The first match will be held on May 18, the second on May 20, the third on May 22 and the fourth and final match on May 23.

Before the departure, captain Imran said that he was satisfied with the changes made in the team and this was an honour for all players to represent Pakistan in the ground and money was not important for them.

Pakistan will be featuring in next month’s Rio Olympics qualifiers in Belgium and the training tour in South Korea will help provide the much needed confidence to players.

SQUAD: Mohammad Imran (captain), Mazhar Abbas, Mohammad Kashif Ali, Nawaz Ashfaq, Imran Butt, Mohammad Irfan, Tassawur Abbas, Zohaib Ashraf, Mohammad Rizwan Junior, Mohammad Tauseeque, Ahmad Shakeel Butt, Faisal Qadir, Mohammad Waqas Shareef, Arsalan Qadir, Shafqat Rasool, Mohammad Umar Bhutta, Mohammad Dilbar and Ali Shan.