India bat against South Africa in second ODI

INDORE: India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the second one-day international against South Africa in Indore on Sunday.


The tourists lead the five-match series 1-0 after winning a high-scoring thriller in Kanpur by five runs on Sunday.

South Africa retained the winning combination, while India made three changes, bringing in left-arm slow bowler Axar Patel, seamer Mohit Sharma and veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

The trio replaced the injured Ravichandran Ashwin, leg-spinner Amit Mishra and all-rounder Stuart Binny.

The one-day series will be followed by four Test matches.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Vineet Kulkarni (IND)

TV umpire: CK Nandan (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)