Mubarak makes comeback against Pakistan in SL Test squad

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka Cricket on Wednesday named their 16-man squad for the three-Test home series against Pakistan starting next week.


Jehan Mubarak made a comeback to the Test squad after playing his last Test in 2007 while three new faces offspinner Tharindu Kaushal, uncapped fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera and left-handed batsman Kusal Perera, who’s played ODIs already, made the cut.

Sri Lanka will face Pakistan in three Tests, starting with the first one on June 17 in Galle, followed by the second in Colombo and third in Pallekele before the ODIs and T20Is.

Pakistan’s coach Waqar Younis, meanwhile, expressed confidence his squad would achieve targets in Tests and one-day series on their tour of Sri Lanka.

Pakistan will play three Tests, five one-day internationals and two Twenty20s on their 53-day tour of Sri Lanka, with the aim of qualifying for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England.

Pakistan, currently ninth in one-day rankings, must beat Sri Lanka to get to the eighth spot or better before the September 30 cut off date for the Champions Trophy, which will feature the top eight teams.

Waqar said he believed the team would do well in the Test series as well as achieving their target of reaching the Champions Trophy.

“We have set targets for Tests as well as one-day series and hope that the team does well on the tour to achieve the targets and I am confident that we will qualify for the Champions Trophy,” Waqar said.

Sri Lanka squad:

Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithruwan Vithanage, Jehan Mubarak, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness).

Pakistan squad:

Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali (vc), Misbah-ul-Haq (capt.), Younis Khan Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan, Ehsan Adil