PCB forms Special committee to evaluate Asia Cup disaster

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has constituted five-member inquiry committee to review the causes of defeat in Asia Cup.


The committee is consisting of Subhan Ahmad, Shakeel Sheikh, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan and Iqbal Qasim.

“The Terms of Reference for the committee are being prepared and will include the selection criteria, the coaching preparation and the team performance,” read a PCB press release. “It will monitor the team’s performance in the World T20 and make its recommendations thereafter.”

Furthermore, the press release by PCB stated: “The committee will be empowered to call any person involved in the team performance. The chairman is already seeking the advice of his cricket advisors, Misbahul Haq and Younus Khan. The special committee will begin functioning immediately.”

Pakistan were knocked out of the race to play the Asia Cup final after being defeated by hosts Bangladesh on Wednesday. The loss led to public outrage and there were calls to make wholesale changes by axing Afridi, the team management and even the selection committee.

PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan however threw his weight behind struggling T20 skipper Shahid Afridi, for now, stating that he will lead Pakistan in the World T20 starting this month in India.