South Africa drops behind India, Australia retains top spot in ODI ranking

DUBAI: World champion Australia has retained its number-one ranking on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings following its 58 runs victory over the West Indies in the final of the tri-series in Barbados on Sunday, but South Africa has dropped behind India in fourth place after it failed to reach the final.


Australia had started the series on 124 points and has finished on 123 points, to lead second-ranked New Zealand by 10 points. However, South Africa’s three loses and one no-result has meant it has dropped two points to join India on 110 points, but behind Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s side when the points are calculated beyond the decimal point.

The biggest gainer from the tri-series is the West Indies, which has retained its seventh ranking but more importantly it has gained six points to open up a seven-point advantage over eighth-ranked Pakistan. If this is read in the context that England plus seven highest-ranked sides on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankingsas on 30 September 2017 will qualify directly for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, then this is a significant improvement.

Sri Lanka and England, which are in the midst of their ODI series, have also swapped places after three matches with England moving ahead of Sri Lanka. The first game had ended in a thrilling tie, England won the second match by 10 wickets, while the third was abandoned due to rain. The final two matches of the series will be played on 29 June and 2 July, which means England has an opportunity to strengthen its fifth position while Sri Lanka has a chance to regain its fifth spot.

In the MRF Tyres ICC Player Rankings for ODI bowlers, South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada, Josh Hazlewood of Australia and West Indies captain Jason Holder have achieved career-best rankings after impressive performances in the tri-series.

Rabada has jumped six places to join seventh-ranked compatriot Dale Steyn after he finished the series with seven wickets, 25-year-old Hazlewood has vaulted eight places to 15th after he ended up as the third most successful bowler behind fourth-ranked Imran Tahir (13) and number-one ranked Sunil Narine (12) with 11 wickets, while Holder has broken into the top 20 in 20th position after rising four places.

Mitchell Marsh, who was named player of the final for his contribution of 32 runs and figures of three for 32, has gained 12 places to break into the top 50 in 50th position for the first time in his career.

After three matches in the series between England and Sri Lanka, the home side’s Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes and David Willey have also achieved career-high rankings. Rashid has moved up 21 places to 30th, Woakes is in 33rd spot after rising 15 places and Willey has rocketed 17 places to claim 44th spot.

South Africa’s AB de Villiers has continued to lead the MRF Tyres ICC Player Rankings for ODI Batsmen, which has seen Marsh gain six places to reach 28th. Marsh scored 154 runs in the series, including a 79 not out against the West Indies in a league game at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

West Indies’ Marlon Samuels has gained two places to reach 27th, stylish left-hander Darren Bravo has earned 10 places to claim 40th spot after scoring 222 runs in the tournament, including 102 against South Africa in a must-win match against South Africa, Farhaan Behardien has jumped six places to 49th spot and Kieron Pollard is now in 54th spot after moving up six places.

There is some good news for England batsmen as well. Opener Alex Hales has lifted seven places to claim a career-high 24th position, while Jason Roy has made a gain of 12 places and is now on a career-high 78thposition.

Sri Lanka batsmen making upward movements after three ODIs include Angelo Mathews 20th (up by two places), Dinesh Chandimal 59th (up by 11 places) and Upul Tharanga 98th (up by five places).

In the MRF Tyres ICC Player Rankings for ODI All-rounders, Marsh has gained three places to reach sixth. The list is headed by Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan.

The ICC ODI Player Rankings will now be updated after the conclusion of England-Sri Lanka series on 3 July.