Nawaz Sharif elected PML-N’s President unopposed


ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been elected PML-N’s President unopposed as only his papers were cleared for the contest of the coveted post.


During scrutiny, nomination papers of other candidate Sardar Prince Baloch were rejected by the Chief Election Commissioner, Chaudhary Jaffar Iqbal.

The nomination papers were scrutinised today from 9am to 10am. The 1950- member general council will elect central office bearers for four years.

The elections are being held for 10 posts including central president, chairman, six senior vice presidents, secretary information and secretary finance. Then these representatives will appoint other office bearers of the party.