Apologies and acceptances: Khattak, Sadiq and Fazal in the clear, Imran not so fortunate

ISLAMABAD: The election commission of Pakistan had issued notices to prominent party leaders and stalwarts on apparent transgressions of the ECP’s code of conduct during and post electioneering and elections.


Those pointed out in the case were Pervez Khattak, Imran Khan, Ayaz Sadiq and Maulana Fazal Ur Rehman.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan has apologised to the Election Commission of Pakistan for violating the electoral code of conduct while casting his vote during the general election 2018.

A four-member bench headed by the chief election commissioner heard the suo motu case against the PTI chief today, after the ECP took notice of Imran publicly stamping the ballot paper in NA-53 Islamabad constituency, instead of going behind the voting screen to cast his vote in secrecy.

Imran’s counsel Babar Awan, who appeared before the ECP today, submitted a written reply stating that his client did not intentionally stamp his ballot publicly.

The affidavit submitted by PTI chief was not formally signed by the PTI chairman hence his apology was deemed unadmissible and has been given till tomorrow to follow due process.

According to Section 185 of the Election Act, a person can be given a six-month jail sentence and/or fine of Rs1,000 for not casting their vote in secrecy.

All the politicians have formally apologized for their acts and have been pardoned, the official notifications of their election results which were withheld due to the violations will also be announced.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay