Supreme Court disqualifies Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif

ISLAMABAD: Five member Supreme Court (SC) bench, which was headed by Justice Asif Saeed Khosa on Friday disqualified Prime Minister (PM) Nawaz Sharif in Panama Papers Case.


Sharif “stands disqualified”, the court said in its highly anticipated ruling over the allegations stemming from the Panama Papers leak last year, which linked the premier’s family to lucrative offshore businesses.

The five-judge larger bench of the Supreme Court headed by Justice Asif Saeed Khosa and comprising Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan, Justice Gulzar Ahmed, Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed and Justice Ijaz-ul-Ahsan unanimously announced the decision in courtroom No 1.

He also ordered to file reference in National Accountability Bureau in six weeks to investigate matter against Nawaz Sharif and his children. Court also ordered to file reference against Capt (retd) Safdar.

He also directed Nawaz Sharif to immediately leave the premiership and also asked president Mamnoon Hussain to ensure smooth democratic system in the country.

According to the PM house, Nawaz Sharif has stepped down from his post “despite reservations” while Federal Cabinet has also been dissolved.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay