ECP issues NA-144 by-poll result

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday declared an independent candidate, Riaz-ul-Haq winner from NA-144 by securing 85,714 votes in by-election.


According to ECP, an independent candidate Chaudhry Riazul Haq got 85,714 votes while Ali Arif Chaudhry of Pakistan Muslim League (N) achieved 45,199 votes in NA-144.

Another independent candidate Abdul Sattar got third position with 14,186 votes.

Tehrik-e-Insaf, candidate Asharf Sohna gained only 6,356 votes while PPP candidate Chaudhry Sajjadul Hassan got 4,325 votes.

Nine candidates participated in the bye election of NA-144 and 1,61,689 votes were cast. Out of the total cast votes 1,57,459 votes were declared correct and 4,230 rejected by the returning officers.