Election tribunal announces NA-122 verdict in favour of Imran Khan


LAHORE: An Election Tribunal on Saturday has ordered re-polling in NA-122, where Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader and speaker in National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq stood victorious against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran khan in the last general elections.


National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq had defeated PTI Chairman Imran Khan in the 2013 general elections from NA-122 after which PTI had challenged the results.

The tribunal’s decision, which was expected to be released at 10am in the morning, was released after an unexplained delay of several hours.

Tribunal member Kazim Ali Malik had on Aug 17 reserved the verdict after Sadiq’s counsel concluded his arguments against the petition filed by PTI Chairman Imran Khan, the runner-up candidate from the constituency.

The tribunal had issued special passes to five persons from each side — PTI and PML-N — to hear the decision.

NA-122 was among the four controversial constituencies — the other three being NA-110 (Sialkot), NA-125 (Lahore) and NA-154 (Lodhran) — where PTI had demanded for voters’ thumbprint verification in the hopes of finding a solution that might be acceptable to all concerned.

The tribunal appointed a retired sessions judge as local commission on Dec 8, 2014. On tribunal’s order, Nadra held an inspection of the constituency record and submitted its final report on May 9, 2015. The authority submitted a supplementary report on May 30.