Federal govt constitutes committee to allay MQM qualms


ISLAMABAD: The government on Friday formed a five-member ‘grievances redressal committee’ to allay Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) uncertainties and fears on the targeted operation in Karachi being carried out by Rangers and police, paving the way for the disgruntled MNAs of the party to return to the assemblies.


The decision came a week after the government and MQM signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). Federal Minister Ishaq Dar with MQM leader Dr Farooq Sattar made the announcement at a news conference in Islamabad last week.

A notification has been issued today in this regard saying the committee, tasked to complete its work on the complaints within 90 days, will hold its first session within next 15 days.

The committee comprises of Justice (retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid, Justice (retd) Khalil-ur-Rehman Khan, Justice (retd) Ajmal Mian, Barrister Farogh Nasim and the Interior Secretary.

In August, MQM resigned from Parliament and Sindh Assembly stating that it was being victimised in the Karachi operation. The party had called for the formation of a judicial commission to probe its claims of extrajudicial killing of party workers, a monitoring committee and release of innocent party workers.