Haripur by-election: Polling end, counting begins


HARIPUR: Vote counting got under way in National Assembly constituency of Haripur, NA-19, after a daylong polling ended on Sunday.


The voting started at 8am and continued till 5pm in the evening without any interval.

Nine candidates, including Babar Nawaz Khan of PML(N), Raja Aamir Zaman of PTI and Haji Mohammad Tahir Qureshi of PPP, were in the run for the seat.

Nearly 500 polling stations were set up in the town where more than 50,000 voters will exercise their right to vote.

Election Commission adopted biometric system at 30 polling stations. According to the commission, the new system will be implemented with the joint collaboration of NADRA, PTA and Ufone.

In case of success, the bio-metric system would be replicated in local government and by-elections in other part of the country.

Both PTI and PML-N candidates held public gatherings and corner meetings to engage and convince their supporters.