LG re-elections under way in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa


PESHAWAR: Re-polling in the local government elections is under way in over 350 polling stations across Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) today (Thursday), amid extra security.


Voting began in 14 districts of the province at 7am. To facilitate the voters, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) extended the polling duration, which will continue till 6pm.

Extra security measures were taken to ensure smooth elections. Police and army personnel have also been deployed at each polling station to avoid mismanagement. Meanwhile, the media has been barred from coverage inside polling stations.

Officials in the ECP had told Dawn that re-polling would be held in 29 polling stations in Peshawar, 88 in Nowshera, 45 Charsadda, 42 Mardan, 17 Swabi, five Kohat, four Hangu, 70 Karak, 30 Bannu, eight Lakki Marwat, eight Dera Ismail Khan, seven Abbottabad, six Mansehra and one in Bunner district.

Previously, local government elections were held across the province on May 30 but due to mismanagement, the polling was suspended and declared null and void by the election commission in some districts. More than a dozen people were killed due to clashes and poll-related violence.

Before this, the last local government elections took place in February 2005. The last provincial government had dissolved local councils on February 20, 2010 after the completion of their tenure. Afterwards, administrators replaced nazims of those bodies.