NA-122 by polls: Ayaz Sadiq leads in vote count


LAHORE: Vote count got under way in National Assembly constituency NA-122 after daylong polling on Sunday.


According to unofficial initial results received from 85 polling stations, Ayaz Sadiq has got a narrow lead with 34384 votes against Aleem Khan, who is closing in with 31072 votes.

A close contest is being expected between the PTI and PML-N.

Earlier, the polling process which began at 8:00 am, ended at 5:00pm without any break.

A total of seventeen candidates are in the race for NA-122 Lahore. Prominent among them are Sardar Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N, Abdul Aleem Khan of PTI and Barrister Mian Aamir Hassan of PPP.

The election commission had set up 284 polling stations in Lahore’s NA-122. Of them, 80 polling stations were declared as sensitive.

Elaborate security arrangements were made as the entire Lahore constituency has been declared as red zone.