NA to vote on PTI de-seat motion on Thursday


ISLAMABAD: Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq on Tuesday postponed till Thursday the matter of voting on the motions submitted by the Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam Fazl (JUI-F) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) to deseat the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf MNA’s.


MQM and JUI-F had moved motions to vacate the seats of 28 PTI members of the National Assembly (MNAs) under clause 2 of article 64 of the constitution of Pakistan over the absence of the legislators without leave in the assembly sittings for forty consecutive days during the party’s sit-in in Islamabad.

JUI-F chief Fazlur Rehman maintained that motions should be deferred for a few days to complete the consultation with fellow legislators, politicians and party members.

“If the government and the other political parties succeed to convince us for the withdrawal the motion then we can withdraw our motion to de-seat PTI MNA’s,” the JUI-F Chief said. He said that his party wants the supremacy of the constitution and continuation of political system in the country.

MQM Leader Dr Farooq Sattar said that the strengthening of democracy is not possible without abiding by the constitution.

“A request should come from PTI leadership for condoning their absence from the parliament for forty days,” he said.

Leaders belonging to the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) persuaded the MQM and JUI-F to take back the resolutions.

Earlier during the day, State Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Shaikh Aftab Ahmed had also requested the leadership of JUI-F and the MQM to withdraw their motions regarding de-seating of 28 members of the PTI.