PML-N emerges as largest party in GB elections


GILGIT: In Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly elections, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has emerged as the single largest party after winning fourteen seats out of twenty-four.


According to unofficial results, three independents have also won their seats while Majlis Wahdatul Muslemeen (MWM) secured two seats and Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) bagged one seat each.

Jaffar Ullah of PML-N has won from LA-1 and Hafeez-ur-Rehman from LA-2 while Dr. Iqbal from LA-3.

Similarly, Mir Ghazanfar from LA-6, Haji Taban from LA-7,Haji Fida Muhammad from LA-9, Iqbal Hassan from LA-11, and Ghulam Hussain from LA-23 of PML-N have won their seats.

From LA-13 Farman Ali, LA-14, Barkat Jamil, LA-17 Haider Khan,LA-22, Ibrahim Sanai and LA-18 Muhammad Wakeel of PML-N have won.

From LA-4 Muhammad Ali Haider of Islami Tehrik, from LA-5, Haji Rizwan of Majlis Wahdatul Muslemeen and Raja Jahanzeb of PTI won from LA-21 have won.

Imran Nadeem of PPP from LA-12, Independent candidates Nawaz Khan from LA-19, Fida Khan from LA-20 and Haji Aziz from LA-16 have won seats.

Meanwhile, Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan has lauded security forces for ensuring peaceful elections in Gilgit Baltistan.

In a statement in Islamabad, he also appreciated the people of Gilgit-Baltistan for their cooperation with law enforcement agencies.

[dmvideo id=”x2t9yvl” media_url=”” width=”420″ height=”280″]