PMLN to contest by-elections, Rashid confident of victory


ISLAMABAD: The ruling Pakistan Mulsim League (PMLN) has decided that Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and Siddique Baloch will contest the by-elections.


The two leaders were disqualified by the election tribunal ending their tenures as members of the national assembly, of which Sadiq was the speaker of the house.

Pervaiz Rasheed and Ahsan Iqbal revealed the party’s decision while speaking to journalists in Islamabad. Rasheed said, that Ayaz Sadiq and Siddique Baloch will contest the by-elections and will win just as they had in 2013.

The Information Minister added that Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) will face an even bigger defeat. He called on Imran Khan to come contest elections against Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was denotified by the Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday after the election tribunal nullified the election result of NA-122 and ordered re-election in the constituency.

While Sardar Ayaz Sadiq reserves the right to seek a stay order from the Supreme Court, the party has decided to contest the by-elections. Ayaz Sadiq had defeated the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan in the May 2013 general elections, but his victory was challenged by the PTI chief in the tribunal.

The PTI has been celebrating a hat-trick of verdicts in their favour of which the decision against Sadiq was the second such victory claimed by the PTI with NA-154 and NA-125 being the other two.

Ahsan Iqbal echoed Rashid’s challenge to Imran Khan and told journalists that Ayaz Sadiq will complete a hat-trick of victories against the PTI Chairman.