PTI’s Arbab Asim elected as Peshawar nazim


PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Arbab Asim has been elected Town Nazim Peshawar as the process for formation of local governments in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa entered final phase today (Sunday).


Candidates for Nazim, Naib Nazim and other slots submitted their nomination papers from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm with the returning officers concerned.

Liaquat Khan Khattak, a brother of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, has won slot of District Nazim Nowshera while Ashfaq Ahmed Khan, also a PTI candidate, was elected as Naib Nazim of the district.

Jaimiat Ulema-i-Islam Fazl (JUI-F) candidate Mufti Ubaidullah won election for District Nazim in Hangu. Muhammad Ali Shah and Abdul Jabbar won seats of Nazim and Naib Nazim of Swat for Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Awami Natioanal Party respectively.

According to the procedure laid out for the election, members of councils elected in local bodies polls held in May were provided a form to be filled with names of their favorite candidates.

Names of successful candidates would be announced on the basis of the opinion expressed in the form.

The tripartite alliance of Awami National Party (ANP), Jamiat Ulema-eIslam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) on Saturday announced boycott of the election for the district and three town nazims of the provincial capital being held today.