Vote count underway as polling ends in NA-122, NA-144, PP-147


LAHORE/OKARA: Vote count got under way in two National Assembly constituencies NA-122 and NA-144 and one Punjab Assembly seat PP-147 after daylong polling on Sunday.


Earlier, the polling process which began at 8:00 am, ended at 5:00pm without any break.

A total of seventeen candidates are in the race for NA-122 Lahore. Prominent among them are Sardar Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N, Abdul Aleem Khan of PTI and Barrister Mian Aamir Hassan of PPP.

The election commission had set up 284 polling stations in Lahore’s NA-122. Of them, 80 polling stations were declared as sensitive.

Elaborate security arrangements were made as the entire Lahore constituency has been declared as red zone.

In NA-144, Okara, five candidates, including Ali Arif Chaudhry of PML-N and Muhammad Ashraf Khan Sohna of PTI, were contesting.

As many as 210 polling stations were set up for 316,370 registered voters. Of them, 25 polling stations were declared as most sensitive.

Strict security arrangements were in place across Okara. CCTV cameras and walk-through gates were installed at all polling stations in the constituency.

The seat was vacated after disqualification of PML-N’s Chaudhry Arif for having a fake degree.

In PP-147 Lahore, the main candidates are Mohsin Latif of PML-N, Muhammad Shoaib Siddique of PTI and Iftikhar Shahid Advocate of PPP.