By-polls underway in Multan’s NA-153

MULTAN: Polling process in Multan’s National Assembly constituency, NA-153, Jalalpur Pir Wala begun Thursday amid tight security.


As many as 379,963 registered voters would cast their votes till 5 pm.

More than 7000 policemen have been deputed for security duty at the polling stations.

Officials said 276 polling stations have been setup in the constituency out of which 75 have been declared ‘sensitive’.

The seat fell vacant following disqualification of PML-N lawmaker Dewan Ashiq Hussain Bukhari by Supreme Court for fake degree of F.A.

A strong competition is expected between Rana Muhammad Qasim Noon of PML-N, Muhammad Akram Kanhon of PPP and Ghulam Abbas Khakhi of PTI.