ECP issues notification about newly-elect Senators

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan has issued notification about the newly elect Senators, newsone reported.


However, notification about 4 senators have been temporarily stopped on the orders of Supreme Court of Pakistan for allegedly being dual nationals.

A list of 46 newly elected senators have been issued by ECP, as 10 seats from Balochistan, 2 from Islamabad, and 4 senators elected from FATA.

However from Punjab only 8  out of 11 senators are notified, 12 from Sindh and 11 from Khyber Pakhtunkhuwah  respectively.

The Elected Senators will take oath as a member of Parliament on 12th March, 2018.

Supreme Court of Pakistan has barred the notifications of 4 newly elect senators after it was revealed that they did not relinquish their ‘dual nationality’.

The apex court would decide their fate by 10th March, if they convince the court about rescinding their respective ‘dual nationalities’.

The names of the newly-elect Senators who allegedly posses dual nationality are Haroon Akhter, Sadia Abbasi, Nuzhat Sadiq, and Chaudhry Sarwar.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay