Jhagra takes oath as new KP Governor


PESHAWAR: Veteran PML-N leader Iqbal Zafar Jhagra took oath as Governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province at a ceremony on Friday.


Mazhar Alam, Chief Justice of Peshawar High Court, administered oath to the new governor.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, federal minister Akram Durrani and other top officials attended the oath-taking ceremony held at Governor House in Peshawar.

Jhagra has replaced Sardar Mehtab Abbasi, who quit the office over health reasons.

Iqbal Zafar Jhagra is the 28th Governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Sir George Cunningham was the first Governor of the province while PML-N leader Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan was the last governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

After the oath taking ceremony, the Governor intermingled with leaders, workers and supporters of PML-N who came in large numbers to congratulate him.