KP-FATA elections: PTI, Independent candidates grabbed most seats

Web Desk – (Syed Ahad Hussain) PESHAWAR: Ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) gained five while Independent candidates took six seats each in the first-ever elections for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial assembly from the merged tribal areas, unofficial and unconfirmed results stated on Sunday.


The polling time in the erstwhile Federal Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) concluded on Saturday at 5pm.

According to the ECP results of 15 constituencies out of 16, Jamat-e-Islami gained one seat and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl also got two seats.

The results stated that the Awami National Party also won a seat.

There are a total of 1,897 polling stations set up for the election.  Elections are held for  16 general seats of KP legislature between 282 candidates which includes nominees from the ruling Pakistani Tehreek-e-Insaf, JUI-F, Awami National Party, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Jamaat-e-Islami, Pakistan Peoples Party, and another independent. candidates.

Two women contested the provincial election in the tribal areas of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province.

Naheed Afridi from the Awami National Party (ANP) aspired for a win in the conservative Khyber district’s constituency of PK 106. Among a total of 148,470 voters in this constituency, 65,652 (44 per cent) are female.

The other female candidate was Malasa Bibi from JI, for PK 109 in the Kurram district. In her constituency, there were 187,844 voters in all, of which 82,560 were women.

FATA was merged into KP last year after the parliament passed the 25th amendment merging the tribal area into KP, mainstreaming them into national decision making. Before that, the members from FATA were elected only in the National Assembly.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay