Multan By-polls: PTI regains seat after well-matched contest with PPP

MULTAN: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Malik Wasif Mazhar Raan on Sunday won PP-218 Multan by-polls after a well-matched race with Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) candidate Malik Arshad Raan.


PTI candidate locked 48,988 votes against the PPP candidate, running with the assistance of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), managed to get 39,486 votes, according to the unofficial results.

Federal Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi congratulated the Prime Minister Imran Khan and the winning candidate by saying that the residents of Multan have rejected corruption.

FM said PPP and PML-N thought they can defeat PTI by uniting but they lost and today it was proven that the mandate was not stolen.

Federal Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry said in a tweet that the victory is a lesson for those who do not give importance to political consciousness of public and people are united against corruption.

Polling was held peacefully and without any report of untoward incidents on total of 138 polling stations, including 25 male, 24 female and 89 combined voting setups.

At the closing time of the polling, voters present inside the premises of the station were allowed to vote. In the constituency, 111,918 male and 91,270 female voters; a combined total of 203,188 registered voters were expected to use their right to vote.

Independent candidates contesting for the constituency included Malik Shahid Abbas Raan, Muhammad Tufail, Muhammad Ramzan and Muhammad Israrul Haq Cheema.

Amid tight security arrangements, as many as 1,887 police officials were assigned to the polling stations while a special control room in the vicinity of Makhdoom Rasheed police station was also set up to keep an eye on the polling.

The provincial Punjab Assembly seat vacated after the death of PTI MPA Malik Mazhar Abbas Raan who was elected after gaining 45,817 votes in the 2018 general elections.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay