Opposition forms anti-budget committee to lure PTI allies

Opposition parties in the parliament have constituted a special committee to gain support from the government’s allies against the passage of the finance bill in the National Assembly.


Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said on Thursday that the committee will persuade the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) coalition partners to help block passage of the federal budget 2019-20.

Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Khursheed Shah, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Shazia Marri and Sherry Rehman have been nominated by the party as members of the committee, while Rana Tanvir, Rana Sanaullah, Ayaz Sadiq and Murtaza Javed have been nominated by PML-N.

Shahida Akhtar Ali will represent the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) ─ a coalition of five religious parties including the Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl  (JUI-F), Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and others ─ while Ameer Haider Hoti will represent the Awami National Party (ANP), according to Aurangzeb.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay