Political leaders react to Sanjrani, Mandviwala surviving no-confidence resolutions

ISLAMABAD: As soon as the Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani and the Deputy Chairman Saleem Mandviwalla on Thursday survived opposition’s no-confidence resolutions against them, reactions from political leaders starting to surface to the surprising victory in the historical voting.


Shaikh Rasheed, Railways Minister

“Opposition was exposed today. They, with the “Abbu Bachao” movement, tried to get the resignation of the Prime Minister Imran Khan. Couldn’t even get the no-confidence resolution passed of Senate chair.”

Firdous Aashiq Awan, Special Assistant to Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting

“Corrupt politics of the opposition got rejected today. There was a rebellion among the ranks of the opposition. In the end, democracy won.”

Shibli Faraz, Senator Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)

“Hopefully the opposition has learned its lesson today. We still raise the hand of friendship towards the opposition.”

Shehbaz Sharif, Leader of Opposition in National Assembly

“Today the democracy was harmed. Conscience was sold today in the senate by our 14 senators.”

Bilawal Bhutto, Chairman of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP)     

“Attacks of anti-masses, puppet government continues. House representing the federacy was attacked today. Sanjrani should morally resign today. The opposition is united, the public is with us. We will continue our struggle against the government in the parliament.”

Mustafa Nawaz Khokar, Senator PPP

“Sending my resignation to the PPP chairman. A vote is safeguarded to the party. Some senators acted irresponsibly.”

Jahangir Tareen, PTI senior leader

“Mubarak Sadiq Sanjrani. Mubarak Pakistan.”

Shireen Mazari, Human Rights Minister

” The resolution for [Sanjrani’s] removal had been defeated by a big margin!”.

Maryam Nawaz, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Leader

“The ones with 65 votes (the opposition) lost. The ones with 36 votes won. Pakistanis, do you understand the 2018 election now?”


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay