Speaker, Deputy Speaker AJK Assembly elected

AZAD KASHMIR: Shah Ghulam Qadir and Sardar Farooq Tahir of Pakistan Muslim League-N have been elected Speaker and Desputy Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly.


Shah Ghulam Qadir secured thirty-nine votes while Malik Muhammad Nawaz of Muslim Conference got three votes and Aamir Abdul Ghaffar Lone of Pakistan Peoples’ Party secured four votes.

Sardar Farooq Tahir of PML-N bagged thirty-nine votes while Sardar Sagheer Chughtai of Muslim Conference got five and Shazia Akbar of Pakistan Peoples’ Party secured four votes.

The outgoing Speaker Sardar Ghulam Sadiq Khan administered oath to Shah Ghulam Qadir.

Newly elected Speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir administered oath to Deputy Speaker Sardar Tahir Farooq.

Later, the newly elected Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly Shah Ghulam Qadir expressed his profound gratitude to the members of AJK Legislative Assembly for electing him as Speaker of the Assembly.

Speaking in special session of AJK Legislative Assembly in Muzaffarabad on Saturay, he said he will run the house with the cooperation and assistance of all the assembly members.

Shah Ghulam Qadir said that all rules and regulations would be followed for the better functioning of the government.

Meanwhile, the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly will elect leader of the House on Sunday morning. PML-N has nominated Raja Farooq Haider Khan as its candidate for leader of House.

Meanwhile, the election of AJK President will take place on 15th of next month.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay