Multan Sultans defeats Lahore Qalandar by 7 wickets

KARACHI: On Monday, Lahore Qalandars were defeated by seven wickets as the Multan Sultans after winning the toss, chose to field first and successfully chased Qalandar’s set target of 140-8 at the National Stadium Karachi.


The row of Qalandar’s continuous defeat continued in Pakistan Super League (PSL)  season 4 as they found themselves placed at the last spot on points table.

Both teams were unable to qualify for the playoffs.

Sultans chased the target with rather ease as Shan Masood contributed a strong sum of 48 runs with mere 25 balls along with Johnson Charles who added victorious 41 runs to finish the game.

Skipper Fakhar Zaman scored a confident 53 from 36 balls, while David Wiese scored 30 from 22 balls.

Three batsmen were dismissed by Mohammad Abbas for 22 runs while Shahid Afridi got two wickets for 18 runs.

Sunday’s game resulted in a surprising one run victory of Karachi Kings against Quetta Gladiators due to which Lahore Qalandars were barred from escalating towards playoffs. For the fourth consecutive time, the Qalandars were robbed of their chance at the playoffs. Multan Sultan, on the other hand, has also been evicted for the second time.

Even with the inclusion of master players such as AB De Villiers, Qalandars have only won three games out of ten to date.

While the Sultans, also despite of comprising of veteran players such as Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik, managed to win only three games out of ten.

Quetta Gladiators with 14 points, Peshawar Zalmi with 12, Islamabad United and Karachi Kings both with 10 points have qualified for the playoffs.

Fakhar Zaman (c), Yasir Shah, Anton Devcich, Rahat Ali, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shaheen Afridi, Agha Salman, Sohail Akhtar, Hassan Khan, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Imran, Umair Masood, Gauhar Ali, Aizaz Cheema, Haris Rauf, Hardus Viljoen, David Wiese, Saad Ali, Asela Gunaratne, Riki Wessels

Multan Sultans

Shoaib Malik (c), Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, James Vince, Shan Masood, Qais Ahmed, Nicolas Pooran, Mohammad Abbas, Irfan Khan, Umar Siddiq, Laurie Evans, Nauman Ali, Mohammad Illyas, M Junaid, Daniel Christian, Tom Moores, Ali Shafiq, Shakil Ansar, Hammad Azam, Chris Green


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay