Australia defeats Pakistan by 7 wickets, takes a lead in series

CANBERRA: Host Australia on Tuesday defeated Pakistan by 7 wickets in the second Twenty20 International here at Manuka Oval in Canberra.


Steven Smith played a magnificent inning of 80 runs off 51 balls and helped Kangaroos claim the victory. Mohammad Irfan, Imad Wasim, and Mohammad Amir took one wicket each.

Iftikhar Ahmed with 62 runs and skipper Babar Azam with a fifty remained the only top scorers for the Green Shirts as Kangaroos claimed wickets rapidly. Ashton Agar took two wickets while Ken Richardson and Pat Cummings took one wicket each.

Earlier, the visitors won the toss and opted to bat first.

“There’s a little bit of dew and we would have bowled anyway. It looks like a good wicket,” said Australian skipper Aaron Finch, naming an unchanged side.

“It’s the same XI. We’re happy with the way everyone is performing.”

“It’s a good batting wicket,” Pakistani skipper Babar Azam said while also naming an unchanged side.

The home team were on course for victory in the first game of the series in Sydney on Sunday before the weather ruined their hopes. The match ended without a result after it was called off due to rain.

The final T20 will be played in Perth on Friday before the two sides face each other in two Tests.


Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steve Smith, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan

With input from AFP.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay