Australia defeats Pakistan by 80 runs, wins the series

ABU DHABI: Australia on Wednesday defeated Pakistan by 80 runs thus winning the series 3-0 in the third one day international at Shaikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.


Spinner Adam Zampa and pacer Pat Cummings restricted Pakistan to 180 as they get 4 and 3 wickets respectively. While Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon and Glenn Maxwell took one wicket each.

Opener Imam Ul Haq and Imad Wasim remained the only top scorers with 46 and 43 runs respectively. While Skipper Shoaib Malik and Keeper Umar Akmal managed to score 31 and 36 runs respectively.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Finch, continuing his form from previous two ODIs, scored a confident 90 on 136 balls. He was well-assisted by Maxwell, 71 off 55 balls before getting run out by Mohammad Rizwan. Besides Finch and Maxwell, Peter Handscomb remained the third high-scorer with 47 runs off 43 balls.

Mohammad Hasnain failed to get any wicket today while Usman Shinwari, Junaid Khan, Yasir Shah, Imad Wasim and Haris Sohail each got one wicket each.

Already 2-0 down in the five-match one-day international series, Pakistan will be looking to make a last-ditch effort to stop Australia from taking the series as they face Aaron Finch and his men in the third fixture today.

Australia continued their fine form in the second ODI in Sharjah, claiming another eight-wicket win over Pakistan on Sunday to go 2-0 up in the series.

Finch smashed a 143-ball 153 not out for his 13th ODI hundred — also his highest score in ODIs — to anchor Australia´s comfortable chase of a 285-run target in 47.5 overs.

Finch, who also scored 116 in Australia’s eight-wicket win in the first game at the same venue on Friday, put on a solid 209-run opening wicket stand with Usman Khawaja who scored 88 off 109.

On the other hand, Pakistan led by Shoaib Malik have yet to turn the tables for themselves. For Pakistan, wickets have been hard to come by with the Pakistani bowlers so far having taken just four wickets in two matches.

Debutant Mohammad Hasnain, who replaced Mohammad Amir, did give the Australians something to think about, but he was unable to find a breakthrough for his side either.


Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan, Abid Ali, Saad Ali, Umar Akmal, Junaid Khan, Yasir Shah, Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas and Mohammad Hasnain

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay