Australia win toss, elect to field against Pakistan in T20 tri-series

HARARE: Pakistan will be looking to continue their impressive form in T20 cricket as they take on a depleted Australia in the second match of the tri-series today.


Pakistan completed their eighth consecutive T20I win after thumping Zimbabwe by 74 runs in the series opener on Sunday.

Sarfraz Ahmed’s side is now looking to hunt down the record of 11-straight wins currently held by Afghanistan.

A career-best 61 from opening batsman Fakhar Zaman, and a late flurry of boundaries from Asif Ali and veteran batsman Shoaib Malik set up Pakistan’s imposing 182 for four against Zimbabwe.

In reply, Zimbabwe mustered just 108 all out, with the wickets shared around by Pakistan’s bowling attack. Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Khan, Mohammad Hafeez and Hasan Ali picked up two apiece.

Hafeez took two for three in his first over in international cricket since his bowling action was cleared last month.

For Zimbabwe, opener Solomon Mire fired in fits and starts to record a 29-ball 27, while Tarisai Musakanda cracked a busy 43 in his debut T20  innings.

However, there was little support from the rest of the top order, with Elton Chigumbura the only other batsman to reach double figures.

The match between Pakistan and Australia will start at 1pm Pakistan Standard Time.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Hussain Talat, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c/wk), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay