Babar Azam Makes It to ICC ODI Team of the Year

Pakistan’s Babar Azam has made it to the ICC ODI Team of the Year  for the second time in his career.


Azam, who had also made the list in 2017, expressed gratitude towards his team and also congratulated women’s team’s all-rounder Nida Dar for her inclusion in the T20I Team of the Year.

“I am thankful to the ICC and its jury for recognising my achievements with the bat. I am also deeply grateful to my teammates and fans,” he said.

“I also want to congratulate Nida Dar, who was named in the ICC T20I Women’s Team of 2019. Women’s cricket in Pakistan is on the rise and Nida, along with others, is making significant contribution.”

The Pakistan cricket team generally had a poor 2019 across all formats and it comes as no surprise that T20I skipper Babar Azam is the only player to be included in the ICC ODI Team of the Year but the right-hander missed out on the ICC Test Team of the Year.

Babar can be slightly disappointed at his omission from the Test Team of the Year after scoring 616 runs in six Tests in 2019 at a healthy average of 68.44 with four of those Tests coming in tough conditions in South Africa and Australia against two of the finest bowling attacks around

Kohli, Stokes and Australia’s fast-bowler Mitchell Starc are the only three players to be in both the Team of the Year for both formats.

ICC Test Team of the Year (in batting order): Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):  Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay