ICC Champions trophy victory against India last year, just became sweeter

By: | Muhammad Ali Azlan & Waqas Arain |



The 180 run mammoth victory by Pakistan over a much stronger India left 1.3 billion people stunned and shattered and on the other side of the border a nation of 200 million danced in ecstasy and were overjoyed on the occasion, Pakistan had defeated their arch nemesis India in a humiliating fashion and to be completely honest, Pakistani’s reveled in the victory and still rub it in the faces of their neighbors whenever a heated cricketing discussion takes place on an active social media platform or in real life for that matter.

Pakistan team celebrating the victory after thrashing India by 180 runs in ICC Champions Trophy 2017 edition. Photo: AFP

The victory and its worth just increased manifold when ICC announced the retirement of the coveted tournament, making the ICC champions trophy 2017 the last of its kind.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday approved a new Future Tours Programme for the 2019-23 cycle, which replaces the 2021 Champions Trophy with a World Twenty20, less than a year after Australia hosts the 2020 edition of the event.


The ICC Champions Trophy was inaugurated as the ICC KnockOut Tournament in 1998 and had been played approximately every four years since. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002.

South Africa won the first edition of the ICC champions trophy in 1998 under the captaincy of Hansie Cronje

The first tournaments being held in Bangladesh and Kenya. Due to its massive commercial success, the tournament has been held in nations like India and England as a revenue generator for the ICC, and the number of teams were reduced to eight.

Up to 2006 the Champions Trophy was held every two years. The tournament had been scheduled to be held in Pakistan in 2008 but was moved to South Africa in 2009 due to security reasons.

Black caps celebrating the victory after beating India in second edition of the tournament in 2000.

Since 2006, eight teams have played in two pools of four in a round-robin format, with the top two teams in each pool playing in the semi-finals. Losing a single match potentially means elimination from the tournament.

Seven different nations have won the title. South Africa won the inaugural tournament, India and Australia have each won twice, while New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Pakistan have each won once. Australia (2006, 2009) is the only nation to have won consecutive titles.

WIndies led by Brian Lara lifting the ICC Champions trophy

Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and England are the only Test playing nations who missed the chance to win the Champions Trophy. India and Sri Lanka were declared co-champions in 2002.

The memories forever etched in our minds, Pakistan will now always be written in the annals of history as the last victor whilst India as the final loser of the historic tournament.

Ausies led by Ricky Ponting celebrating the victory after marking their second consecutive win in 2006 & 2009.

Cricketing purists are upset with the development, and rightly so, with the age old and all important debate of putting cricket before economics is slowly and steadily losing value, The International Cricket Council has made decisions which seem illogical and downright stupid for the time being when cost effectiveness and scheduling aspects are looked upon.

The ICC in a bid to make cricket a global affair gave green light to all 104 cricket playing members; men and women’s teams Twenty20 international status.

MS Dhoni provided team India to lift the trophy second time in 2013 in England.

David Richardson confirmed by this development on the sidelines of ICC meeting in Kolkata.

The announcement of 104 countries actively participating in the centuries old sports on the surface seems a noble Idea but given the limited demand of the sports the prospect for now seems like a wild idea, we are all for the betterment of cricket and it’s prosperity and perseverance.

Football did not give as much to the commercial norms like cricket is doing at the moment, their time durations were not trimmed to appease and appeal to the masses, whereas cricket has changed and evolved or let me say ‘meddled with and fiddled with’ the most in the recent past.

Both audiences should be kept happy, the casual viewer along with the purists both should enjoy the game that they pay their hard earned money to watch by buying a ticket or forgetting the worries of the world watching as a keen viewer on the television feeling the adrenaline pumping through their veins, clinging on to every shot played and every delivery bowled.

It’s a bittersweet moment, let’s hope that everyone works for the betterment of cricket and saner heads prevail in the economic tussle.

The final structure of the FTP (19-23) includes:

ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019, 2023

ICC World T20 – 2020, 2021

ICC World Test Championship Final – 2021, 2023

World Test Championship

Cycle 1 – 2019-2021

Cycle 2 – 2021-2023

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League – 2020-2022.



The views expressed by the Author and the reader comments do not reflect the views and policies of The NewsOne.

Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay