Imran Khan, Wasim Akram chosen for Cricinfo’s all-time World Cup XI

Ex-Skipper Pakistan and current Prime Minister Imran Khan with the ‘King of Swing’ Wasim Akram has been chosen for ESPNcricinfo’s all-time World Cup XI.


Ten of the playing XI comprised in half or more of the sides, among which Akram was unanimously chosen, according to the cricket website.

However, the selection of the final XI was not an easy task with Kumar Sangakkara defeating the likes of Sanath Jayasuriya, Steve Waugh, Kapil Dev and AB de Villiers for the final slot.

The site mentioned that only two of the players in the final XI featured in a World Cup before 1992.

The World Cup 1992 trophy holder, captain Khan has scored 666 runs with 34 wickets in 28 matches, was a force to be reckoned while batting and also while bowling.

Left-arm swing wreaker Akram, an icon of his generation, has gotten 55 wickets with a 23.83 average in 38 matches.

The ESPNcricinfo All-time World Cup XI Squad: Adam Gilchrist (wicketkeeper), Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Viv Richards, Kumar Sangakkara, Imran Khan (captain), Lance Klusener, Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay