Misbah announces Pakistan squad for Australia series, replaces Sarfraz with Rizwan

LAHORE: Misbah-ul-Haq, Chief Selector and Head Coach of Pakistan cricket team, on Monday announced the squad for the upcoming tour of the team to Australia.


T20 squad: Babar Azam (captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Muhhamad Amir, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan, Muhammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, and Wahab Riaz.

Test squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Abid Ali, Asad Shafique, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Khan Sr, Iftikhar Ahmed, Kashif Bhatti, Muhammad Abbas, Muhammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, and Yasir Shah.

Misbah, while announcing the squad, said the message is clear for Sarfraz Ahmed and all the players that performance is key to be in the team.

Misbah attempted to clear the air regarding the controversial decision of removing the cricketer from the captaincy and said there’s no conspiracy against him.

The former skipper was also not considered for the wicket-keeping slot as Rizwan was selected in his place for the crucial series.

The chairman PCB also mentioned in the press release that the only criteria for the team selection was merit and drop in Sarfaraz’s recent form was the only reason behind him being not given the task of leading the team, said the head coach.

Misbah said he and Chairman Ehsan Mani and MD Waseem Khan discussed in detail regarding Pakistan’s furure plan of action.

The doors are open for Sarfaraz and everyone else to regain form in the domestic cricket and comeback, said Misbah.

‘We have always backed Sarfaraz and he is a good enough player and has performed for the country.’

Our strategy for Australia is to play aggressive cricket and challenge the Aussies in their home ground, said the chief selector.

We have selected to new bowlers Naseem Shah and Moosa Khan and they are capable of surprising the opposition, said Misbah adding that we are going there to win and have confidence in new players that they will prove their selection.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay