First T20I: Brilliant Sarfraz, Malik take Pakistan 1-0 up in Scotland series

EDINBURGH: Pakistan thrashed Scotland by 48 runs in the first of two T20Is played at Edinburgh on Tuesday.


Batting first Pakistan set 205 runs target for Scotland by losing four wickets in allotted 20 overs.

In response Scotland could only scored 156 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs. Michael Leask  was the top scorer from Scotland as he scored not out 38 runs.

From Bowling department Muhammad Nawaz was economical with the bowl as he picked up one wicket in 4 overs by giving away just 22 runs.

Shadab Khan and picked up 2-2 wicket respectively. Meanwhile, Muhammad Amir managed to get only one wicket. Skipper Sarfraz Ahmed was awarded Man of the match for his brilliant not out 89 runs.

First Innings: 

Batting first Pakistan lost their first wicket in the shape of Opener Ahmed Shehzad as he caught in the deep for 14 off 12 balls, at the score of 33. Fakhar Zaman was sent to the pavilion for 21 off 15 balls, leaving the tourists at 46-2 after 5.2 overs.

All-rounder Shoaib Malik and captain Sarfraz Ahmed set partnership of 93 runs for the 4th wicket stand. Malik scored 53 runs off 27 balls smashing 5 sixes.

Captain Sarfraz Ahmed made not out 89 runs off 49 balls smashing 3 sixes and 10 fours.

Alasdair Evans was the key bowler from Scotland as he picked up three wickets for his team.

Pakistan, during their ongoing UK tour, beat Ireland in a historic one-off Test before going on to draw the two-match Test series against England.

The second T20I will be played on Wednesday, June 13 in Edinburgh.

Both the matches will start at 8pm Pakistan Standard Time.

Earlier, Scotland registered their first-ever victory over neighbours England at Edinburgh on Sunday, bowling England out for 365 after posting their highest score of 371 for five.


Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Hussain Talat, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir.

Scotland: Kyle Coetzer (c), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Dylan Budge, Calum MacLeod, Michael Leask, Alasdair Evans, Mark Watt, Safyaan Sharif, Hamza Tahir, George Munsey.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay