Boult hat-trick stuns Pakistan in first ODI

ABU DHABI: New Zealand beat Pakistan by 47 runs in the first One-Day International of three-match series in Abu Dhabi here on Wednesday.


Batting first, New Zealand set a target of 267 runs for Pakistan. In reply, Pakistan were all-out by scoring 219 runs in 47.2 overs.

The left-arm strike bowler took a hat-trick with his eighth, ninth and 10th deliveries to reduce Pakistan to 8-3.

His victims were opener Fakhar Zaman, bowled by a rocket which angled into him; Babar Zaman, sharply caught by Ross Taylor at a wide slip; and Mohammad Hafeez who was bamboozled by an inswinger that trapped him lbw to spark jubilant scenes.

Boult was the third New Zealand bowler after Danny Morrison (against India in Napier in 1994) and Shane Bond (against Australia in Hobart in 2007) to achieve the feat. It was the 46th instance in ODI cricket.

Sarfraz Ahmed and Imad Wasim saved the team from embrassing defeat as the duo setup a partnership of 103 runs for the seventh wicket.

Sarfraz made 64 runs by smashing 7 fours. Imad Scored 50 runs (72) balls.

First Innings: 

Earlier bowling first Pakistan restricted Kiwis to 266 for nine in first match of the ODI series courtesy briliang bowling figures of Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Tom Latham and Ross Taylor set up a brilliant 130-run partnership for the fourth wicket to put New Zealand in a commanding position, after the visitors won the toss and elected to bat first.

Ross Taylor scored 80 runs off (112) balls by hitting five boundaries. Tom Latham on the other hand made 68 runs (64) balls by hitting 5 fours.

Shadab and Shaheen picked up four wickets each, while Imad managed to get only one wicket.

Earlier, New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first one-day international at Abu Dhabi.

Pakistan crushed NZ by 3-0 in Twenty20 series– their second whitewash in a week following a romp over Australia, also in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

The last two matches are in Abu Dhabi (Friday) and in Dubai (Sunday).

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Junaid Khan

New Zealand: George Worker, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay