World Cup 2019: New Zealand opted to field against South Africa

BIRMINGHAM: New Zealand, in the 25th World Cup 2019 match, opted to field first after winning the toss against South Africa here in Birmingham on Wednesday.


The start of the Cricket World Cup group game between New Zealand and South Africa at was delayed by a wet outfield.

After a pitch inspection at 10:15am local time, umpires Nigel Llong and Ian Gould will inspect the pitch again at 11am. Conditions have been overcast, and there’s the possibility of light rain later this morning, but the weather forecast for the rest of the day at Edgbaston is good.

The 25th game of this World Cup is Edgbaston’s first. The popular Birmingham venue, where the lively atmosphere can reach soccer-style levels, hosts five games in total, including the second semifinal on July 11.

New Zealand currently holds second place at the points table after winning three games with their fourth game against India being rained out.

For New Zealand, their bowling attack is their most strong feature. Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner have been very remarkable in the tournament so far.

Besides bowling, the batting line-up of the Black Caps is also comprised of some of the best batsmen in the world including Martin Guptill Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson and Colin Munro.

South Africa, on the other hand, are seeking to recover after injuries to their fast bowlers and are hoping to get the winning spirit back after their only victory of the tournament against Afghanistan.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (C), Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi

with input from AP.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay