FM Asad Umar chaired maiden ECC meeting today

ISLAMABAD: Finance Minister Asad Umar chaired the inaugural Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) meeting of the government on Wednesday.


The ECC mulled over on a five-point agenda in the convention which includes: the circular debt and its impact on the power sector, gas pricing, financial health of Pakistan State Oil (PSO) and its liquidity position, DAP situation for the Kharif crop and the measures to address shortage of urea fertilizer.

Earlier on Monday, Prime Minister Imran Khan formed a 12-member ECC and appointed Finance Minister Asad Umar as its chairman.

The notification issued by the cabinet division read that Law Minister Farogh Naseem, Petroleum Minister Ghulam Abbasi, Planning and Development Minister Khusro Bakhtiar and Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid were appointed to the ECC, in addition to prime minister’s advisors Razak Dawood and Dr Ishrat Hussain.

In addition, six more ministers — communications, national food security, power, privatisation, statistics and water resources — will also be made members of the ECC after their appointment.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay