Imran Khan elected as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Imran Khan elected as the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan, as he secured 176 votes votes thrashing Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) president Shehbaz Sharif.


The runner up Shehbaz Sharif secured 96 votes, as Pakistan People’s Party withdrew its support from the former, also not participating in the voting exercise.

Cricketer turned politician Imran, who after his 22 years of political struggle ascended to PM slot, as his party emerged victorious in 25th General Election, 2018.

The 65 years old Imran, who came to National Assembly wearing cultural ‘Shalwar Qameez’ along with black waist coat said that one part of his struggle ended. However, the main part of his struggle is beginning from today as Pakistan has to go much way forward, he asserted.

Whereas Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) recorded protest wearing black armband, dismissing Imran’s election alleged rigging in the recent elections.

Khan’s oath-taking ceremony will take place tomorrow. The former cricketer was tipped as the ‘PM-in-waiting’ soon after the July 25 polls in which PTI won more seats than other political parties.

The newly elected members of the National Assembly finished casting their votes for the two contenders in the running for the premier post: Imran Khan and Shahbaz Sharif.

A PML-N leader and former assembly speaker Ayaz Sadiq made a last-minute attempt to convince PPP Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari ─ whose party earlier announced it would abstain from voting ─ to support Shahbaz Sharif.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay