Mahesh Malani first non-muslim to win NA general seat from Tharparker

For the first time in Pakistan elections, a non-muslim Mahesh Malani has been elected directly in the provincial seat of National Assembly.


He was contesting polls from NA- 222(Tharparker2) on Pakistan People’s Party ticket, defeating Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) Tehreek-e-Labbaik (TLP) candidates.

Malani — who is a Hindu — contested and won the NA-222 (Tharparkar-II) seat where he held his ground against 14 candidates representing the Grand Democratic Alliance, Allah-o-Akbar Tehreek, Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan and several independent candidates.

In 2013, Malani was also the first non-Muslim lawmaker to win a general seat in the Sindh Assembly, PS-61 (Tharparkar-III).

He has served as the chairperson of the Sindh Assembly’s Standing Committee on Food, and has remained a member of the Standing Committee on Law and Parliamentary Affairs and Human Rights, Standing Committee on Minorities Affairs, Standing Committee on Energy and Standing Committee on Transport and Mass Transit during the last government’s tenure.

During the Senate elections earlier this year in March, PPP’s Krishna Kumari from Tharparkar became the first Thari Hindu woman to be elected to the Senate. She was elected to a reserved seat for women from Sindh.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay