PTI’s number of seats in NA rises to 158 after addition of 33 reserved seats: ECP

ISLAMABAD: On Saturday, the Election Commission of Pakistan announced the distribution of seats reserved for women and minorities, raising the number tally of seats  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in the national assembly to 158.


Nine out of 13 independent winning candidates joined the PTI, swelling the total number of PTI’s general seats to 125. As per the the formula mentioned in the constitution, the PTI has now been allotted as many as 28 reserved women and five minority seats in the national assembly, summing upto 158 seats, ECP informed in the notification

According to the party standings (Official) issued by the ECP, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz is at the second position with 64 general seats. The party will get two minority seats and 16 women seats, taking its final tally to 82 seats in the 342 member house

The Pakistan Peoples Party was a distant third with 42 general seats. According to the ECP, the PPP now has a total of 53 seats after being allotted two seats reserved for minorities and nine reserved for women.

Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal will have fifteen members in the house with 12 general seats, two women and a minority member.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan secured seven seats in the house with six general seats and one women seat. Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid’s seat share stands at five, with four general and one woman reserved seat.

Followed by Balochistan National Party with four seats including three general seats and one woman seat.

Awami League, Jamhori Watan Party and Awami National Party have one seat each in the lower house of the parliament.

The first session of the 15th National Assembly has been summoned on August 13 (Monday), while the election for the new prime minister is expected to take place on August 17 (Friday).

The PTI, which swept the July 25 general elections by winning 116 general seats, requires a simple majority of votes from the number of lawmakers present in the House to elect party chairman Imran Khan as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay