Shibli Faraz appointed as the Leader of the House in the Senate as notification issued

ISLAMABAD:  A notification issued on Sunday said that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Senator Shibli Faraz has been appointed as the Leader of the House in the Senate.


Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Raja Zafarul Haq has meanwhile been named Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, the notification said.

Prime Minister Imran Khan had nominated Faraz as his party’s nominee for Leader of the House in Senate over the weekend, whereas PML-N had forwarded the name of Zafarul Haq for the slot of Leader of the Opposition in the upper house of the Parliament.

Rule 2(1) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Senate, 2012, reads: “The leader of the House shall be the prime minister or a member appointed by him to represent [the] government and to regulate government business in the Senate when the prime minister is not sitting in the House.”

Mr Faraz, a former banker, is chairman of the Senate’s standing committee on commerce and special committee on circular debt. He is also a member of the committee on planning and development and reforms, water resources, statistics, and climate change and a member of the parliamentary committee on the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor.


Junior - Taleem Aam Karaingay - Juniors ko Parhaingay