Five-time ICC umpire of the year award-winning Australian umpire Simon Taufel has pointed out a grave error for awarding six runs to England instead of five in the final of World Cup 2019.
Taufel, who is currently a part of the MCC’s laws sub-committee that makes the rules governing cricket, told an Australian based news channel that England should have been awarded five runs, not six.
“It’s a clear mistake.. it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel said. “They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six.”
Taufel was considered among the best umpires of his time, he also said that tail-ender Adil Rashid should have been on strike for the penultimate delivery of the innings instead of Stokes.
It all happened on the fourth delivery of the over when England needed 9 runs to win. Guptill’s threw from the deep hit straight on the willow of Ben Stokes, which went for a boundary.
As per law 19.8, pertaining to “Overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”